Changes to the Green Award Committee

The Green Award Committee has accepted the resignation of the recently appointed Chairman Professor Harilaos Psaraftis.

Prof. Psaraftis had to conclude that he would not be able to devote sufficient time to fulfilling the chair position so as to perform to his best ability. In his opinion, the educational and research responsibilities that he carries out in his new position of Professor of transport optimization at the Technical University of Denmark would prevent him from dedicating enough time to the foundation’s activities. He believes that Green Award is an important initiative for the shipping industry which deserves full attention and commitment from its chairman, and his sense of responsibility does not allow him to function in a limited capacity.

The Board and the management have agreed that, in current circumstances, Prof. Psaraftis’ resignation is understandable, even though it is much to the regret of all the parties. Prof. Psaraftis expressed his gratitude for the honor of being selected as chairman of the Green Award Foundation and wished the Foundation all the best for the future.

Currently, former Chairman Pieter Struijs will continue leading the scheme with cooperation of Vice-Chairman Mr. P. Mollema until the name of a new chairman has been announced.





© 2009 | Sitemap | Disclaimer | Contact